Heritage Site Finder


Heritage Site Finder

An interactive map of buildings and sites on the Vancouver Heritage Register.

Science World

Photo Source: www.scienceworld.ca


1455 Quebec St, Vancouver BC


False Creek East






Constructed for Expo 86 and opened in 1985 as the Expo Preview Centre, becoming the Expo Centre in 1986 when the fair opened, the fair’s signature building was designed by fair architect Bruno Freschi to serve as the visual anchor at the eastern end of the creek and to mark the fair’s main entrance.

The geodosic dome – an iconic form invented by American inventor Buckminster Fuller – was built from 766 aluminum triangles and supported by an outer frame of white steel. After extensive retrofitting, the dome became Science World, with an Omnimax theatre filling the dome. The architect for the additions made to transform the Expo Centre into Science World was Boak Alexander.

In addition to the OMNIMAX® Theatre and the Science Theatre, Science world is home to five permanent galleries: Eureka! Gallery; Search: Sara Stern Gallery; the Kidspace Gallery; Our World: BMO Sustainability Gallery; and Puzzles and Illusions. It also boasts a feature gallery for special exhibitions, the Peter Brown Family Centre Stage for live science shows, the Kaleidoscope Science Store, Triple O’s White Spot restaurant and administration offices.

Science world was listed as an A-listing addition to the Vancouver Heritage Register in 2019, as a condition of previously approved development permit applications. It is significant for its unusual architecture, its architect, the substantial cultural, social, and educational value for its association with Expo ’86, and for its continued use as Science World.

Expo-Legacy Science World was recognized by Vancouver Heritage Foundation’s Places That Matter plaque project in 2013.

Unsourced Descriptions



City of Vancouver Report 2018, Vancouver Heritage Foundation Places That Matter: Expo Legacy- Science World, https://www.scienceworld.ca/buildinghistory