Photo Credit: Madeleine de Trenquayle
198 W Hastings St, Vancouver BC
Built in 1908-09 as one of the first tall buildings in the area by architects Alfred Arthur Cox and Louis August Amos for Francis Carter-Cotton, this building was one of Vancouver’s early steel structures. The building served as the first home of the News-Advertiser newspaper, noted as the first newspaper in Canada to be printed by electrically-driven presses.
The Daily Province newspaper moved into the lower floors of the building in 1925, earning it the name “The Daily Province Building”.
The building is now owned by Ratana Stephens, co-founder of Nature’s Path and one of Vancouver Film School’s downtown campuses. Stone trim and arches decorate the brick facade of this Edwardian Commercial structure, and the decorated parapet and ground floor brackets are notable design features.
The unique bridge that joins this to the Edgett Building on Pender Street was built in 1924, forming a strong backdrop to Victory Square.
Canada's Historic Places, Vancouver Heritage Inventory Phase II 1986 Summary Report, Vancouver Courier article (2013), Courtney Stickland "The forgotten front": a walking tour of Vancouver during the First World War (2013)