Photo Credit: Steve Hodder
3655 W 3rd Ave, Vancouver, BC
3649 W 3rd Ave, Vancouver BC
The permit for 3649  West Third Avenue lists the builder and architect as Leon B. Fraser, and the owner as Mrs. Amber Strauss and Paul Strauss. Likely built in 1915-1916, the permit notes that the materials to be used for building the house include: 1500 bricks, 600 yds pl, 6 bbl. cmt.
The house first appears on directories in 1917, with the resident listed as Charles R. Evans, the principal of Cecil Rhodes School, which changed to L’École Bilingue in 1974, Vancouver’s first French-Immersion School. Evan remained until 1920. From 1921 to 1932, William Sharpe- a manager for Hudson Bay Company, lived in the house.
British Columbia City Directories 1860-1955, Canada's Historic Places, VSB Archives